National Freedom Day

Susan Foster
3 min readFeb 1, 2021

Is it hypocritical for us to celebrate freedom in the USA?

Martin Luther King Jr quote. Photo and image creation by Susan Foster via The Most — of Every Moment

The USA has always put a strong emphasis on freedom.

“Land of the free … let freedom ring … … with liberty and justice for all.”

There are countless famous phrases and song lyrics that celebrate freedom as the bedrock of the United States. We even have a designated day to remind us that the United States is a country dedicated to the ideals of freedom. On June 30, 1948, a bill was signed by President Truman which proclaimed February 1 as National Freedom Day. On this day, we honor the resolution signed by Abraham Lincoln, abolishing slavery.

All Americans do not have the same freedoms and opportunities

I have taken my own personal freedom mostly for granted throughout my life. I’ve been free to live life pretty much as I please, and I have not often given those liberties and innate privileges much thought. Of course, I’ve always been aware that many people living outside the US do not enjoy the same privileges as me, and I’ve felt lucky to be an American.

Some news stories of the past few years were a huge wake-up call for me, as they were for many other Americans. It became undeniably apparent that…

--

--

Susan Foster

Susan lives in Montana with her husband and a clever Jenga-playing dog. The author of a regrettably neglected blog, she hopes to publish her debut novel soon.